Day 19 – Guess Who’s Getting Married

No, not me lol. My best friend is getting married and she’s asked me to be the maid of honor! Of course I’m thrilled for her, but I’m not going to lie…I am a little worried what this may do to me financially. I’ve read how expensive being a bridesmaid…in particularly a maid of honor, can be sometimes.

Luckily, my bestie is pretty reasonable and understanding so I don’t she will intentionally request anything ridiculously expensive. I found some bridal books on sale about a year ago when a book store was going out of business. The books have tips on how to have a nice wedding on a budget and how to be an awesome bridesmaid on a budget. She hasn’t really given me much information as to how she wants the wedding so I’ll have to wait until I get more details to see how to best budget for the wedding.

Here are some of the expenses I plan to have (in no particular order):

1. Bridesmaid dress, shoes and accessories
2. Bridal gift
3. Couple’s gift
4. Travel (I live about 6.5 hours away by car from the bestie. My parents live in the city my bestie is getting married in so I won’t have to pay for lodging and food. As I have an older car, I’ll definitely rent one to make the trips.)
5. Bridal shower and/or Bachelorette party
6. Make-up and nails

I’m expecting to make about three trips: 1. Engagement party; 2. Bridal shower or bacherolette party; and 3. actual wedding. She has her engagement party on December 6, 2014 so I will be making a trip that weekend. (That’s also the weekend where I’m supposed to go to a football game with the significant other…it’s going to be a crazy weekend lol.) I’m not sure if she wants a bridal shower and/or Bachelorette party so we will see. The wedding is tentatively planned for early May 2015.

I think I will definitely have enough time to save money up to not have to charge anything for the wedding. Do y’all have any tips for not breaking the bank while being a part of a wedding party?

Leave a comment