Day 1 – Plan of Attack

Today is the first day of me seriously trying to make a dent in my debt. Since I basically owe a house’s worth of debt, I needed to come up with a plan of attack. So here it is:

  1. Contact my student loan holders and see if I can get a lower monthly payment rate…specifically for the Sallie Mae loans. I current pay $468.59 a month. That’s about half of one of my two paychecks. I would feel more comfortable making that kind of payment if I knew I had a decent emergency fund saved up. Even if I can get the payments reduced by $100.00, I think that would seriously help. Also, I will consider consolidating my loans. Most of them have a high percentage (6.8% or higher) so I think I could benefit from consolidating them for a much lower rate.
  2. Create a budget (and stick with it as much as possible). I have attempted budgeting before and totally bombed. However, this time I am going to do my best to actually stick with it. I currently use the Good Budget budgeting system and app on Android ($5.00 per month), but I really liked the YNAB budgeting system and app (one-time $60.00 fee). I think with my next pay check I will fork over the $60.00 and get the license for the YNAB system and app (once you buy your license, it is good for all future updates). I am hoping the investment will pay off in the long run.
  3. Find a way to reduce my expenses. There are definitely areas in which I can reduce my expenses. I can definitely cut down on my cable. (However, I will not lose AMC as the new season of The Walking Dead starts Sunday and I cannot miss it.) I think I have found a bundle where I can keep my internet at its current speed and reduce the number of cable channels I have. I think the reduction will cut my cable/internet bill down by about $20.00. I will also try and cut down on my dinning out expenses. I usually don’t go to many fancy restaurants, but fast food and family style dinning places add up quickly. I can also cut out one of my gym memberships (yes, I have two…but in my defense one is only $10.00 for 24-hour access lol).
  4. Find a way to earn some additional income. I think this will be the biggest way for me to make a dent in my debt. As I have stated in my previous post, I only make $35,000.00 before taxes. Even if I put all of my income into paying off my debt, it would still take about 6 years to pay it all off. Since that is definitely not feasible, I have to find some additional income. I currently do some adjunct teaching so I should be getting two additional paychecks (one in October and one in December). Those checks will provide me with about $1,600.00 in additional income. I will also start working a part-time job for about seven weeks that pays about $15.00 an hour. I think I can net anywhere from $1,050.00 to $2,100.00 before taxes. I will also look into finding a part-time evening or weekend job.
  5. I am going to attempt to use Dave Ramsey’s snowball method to pay off my debt. I will start with the smallest loans first and work my way up.

So what do y’all think of my plan of attack? Any suggestions?

4 comments

  1. If debt payoff is your aim, and not simply reduced monthly expenses, I caution you against trying to lower your monthly payments. Check to see how much interest you’re currently paying per month. If you’re recently out of school, it’s very possible that 95% of your monthly payment is going to interest. If you reduce your monthly payment you could end up increasing the amount you owe, which is even worse if unpaid interest gets capitalized into your loan (then you’re paying interest on interest.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your input. I definitely see your point. However, the reduction would be for a short term. Right now I basically have no emergency fund (which is no bueno). I would get a reduction to save up enough money to have at least $1,000.00 in my emergency fund and then go back to at least making my regular payments.

      Like

  2. I posted my comment when I meant to hit return–also look into what benefits consolidating provides you. If you consolidate your federal loans through their program, the interest rate you pay is a function of your current interest rates. You might be able to get a marginally better interest rate just due to rounding, but it’s also possible to end up with a higher interest rate AND have to pay loan origination fees. Personally I wish I had stuck with making a bunch payments on smaller loans each month. I am in the process of refinancing my consolidation loan through a private lender at a lower interest rate, but this will mean losing some of the benefits of a federal loan–something I’m comfortable with, but certainly isn’t for everyone.

    Like

Leave a comment